• NewsTopBanner
Corporate Governance
Corporate Profile
Fleet and Route Map
Training and Career Development
Advertising with Us
Press Office
Contact us
  • Air Astana and Asiana Airlines Sign Codeshare Agreement

    20 June 2014 

    Air Astana and Asiana Airlines, Skytrax award-winning carriers from Kazakhstan and South Korea, have signed a widespread codeshare agreement on routes served by both airlines. The agreement was signed by Peter Foster, President of Air Astana, and Mr. Kim Soo Cheon,President of Asiana Airlines, at the Kazakhstan-Korea business forum in Astana on 19th June, 2014.

    Air Astana passengers will benefit from Asiana’s network to Asia and North America, whilst Asiana passengers will benefit from Air Astana’s network across Central Asia, C.I.S. and Europe. The codeshare agreement provides passengers with substantial benefits, including increased schedule flexibility with real time availability on both carriers and last seat availability on all flights. Passengers will additionally benefit from an enhanced network that can be used with a single ticket. 

    "In recent years, political, business, financial and cultural co-operation between Kazakhstan and South Korea has grown tremendously, with traffic on the route between Almaty and Seoul growing by nearly 50% " said Peter Foster, President of Air Astana. " I am confident that the agreement reached today will allow both airlines to enter a new phase of development and provide our respective passengers with a full range of benefits on the extended route network."

    Mr. Kim additionally congratulated Mr Foster on Air Astana recently becoming a member of the Association of Asia Pacific Airlines (AAPA). The Presidents of the two airlines have agreed to explore every possible opportunity to providing additional benefits to passengers, including frequent flyer programs, information technology development and customer service.

    Both parties agreed to meet and discuss the progress between their respective airlines during the AAPA Assembly Of Presidents in Tokyo on 18-19 November 2014.